Stay Informed With Our Latest News

March 19, 2021 marks the Auspicious Saint Joseph's Day also referred to as the Feast of Joseph or the Solemnity of Saint Joseph which is highly recognized or remembered by Assumption University of Thailand (AU) as a Catholic University.

St. Joseph
Feastday: March 19
Patron: of the Universal Church, unborn children, fathers, workers, travelers, immigrants, and a happy death

St. Joseph, (flourished 1st century CE, Nazareth, Galilee, region of Palestine; principal feast day March 19, Feast of St. Joseph the Worker May 1), in the New Testament, Jesus’ earthly father and the Virgin Mary’s husband. St. Joseph is the patron of the universal church in Roman Catholicism, and his life is recorded in the Gospels, particularly Matthew and Luke.

Joseph is the patron saint of the dying because, assuming he died before Jesus' public life, he died with Jesus and Mary close to him, the way we all would like to leave this earth.

Joseph is also patron saint of the Universal Church, families, fathers, expectant mothers (pregnant women), travelers, immigrants, house sellers and buyers, craftsmen, engineers, and working people in general.

We celebrate two feast days for Joseph: March 19 for Joseph the Husband of Mary and May 1 for Joseph the Worker. March 19 has been the most commonly celebrated feast day for Joseph, and it wasn't until 1955 that Pope Pius XII established the Feast of "St. Joseph the Worker" to be celebrated on May 1. This is also May Day (International Workers' Day) and believed to reflect Joseph's status as the patron of workers.

Many places and churches all over the world are named after St. Joseph, including the Spanish form, San Jose, which is the most commonly named place in the world. Joseph is considered by many to also be the patron saint of the New World; of the countries China, Canada, Korea, Mexico, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Peru, Vietnam; of the regions Carinthia, Styria, Tyrol, Sicily; and of several main cities and dioceses.


St.Joseph. (n.d.).

St.Joseph biblical figure. (n.d.).

At Assumption University of Thailand

The significance of such Feast Day of Saint Joseph was evidently & respectfully displayed when Rev. Bro. Dr. Prathip Martin Komolmas, President Emeritus, named the 25 Years of Dedicated Service Awards: i.e. the awards presented to AU personnel who have faithfully rendered 25 years of service. Such honorable St. Joseph awards were firstly presented on December 24, 2009.


St. Joseph Award
Dedicated Service Award

       The St. Joseph Award is named after St. Joseph. The bible mentions him as a humble and just man. The Catholic Church has proclaimed Saint Joseph as the Patron Saint of all workers.

       This award recognizes and rewards full-time staff members who, having served at Assumption University for at least twenty-five years, in their everyday work and roles, go beyond themselves in bringing service with satisfaction to their colleagues and students, in selfless ways.

        First time was organized on December 24, 2009, at The Chapel of St. Louis Marie de Montfort Suvarnabhumi Campus.

Name list of nineteen staff members who deserve to be recognized for the long years of dedicated service to the University on December 24, 2009

No.  Name-Surname Link to AU-IR
1 Ms. Norranuch Paikaew
2 Mrs. Choosri Tanaprasertsuk
3 Mr. Sakda Chaiyalarp
4 Mr. Sutee Kositarat
5 Ms. Sriubon Prempree
6 Mr. Piwat Demarayat
7 Ms. Songsamom Chomjinda
8 Mrs. Vipapom Issareyamat
9 Mrs. Amporn Na Songkhla
10 Mr. Kasem Namchom
11 Mrs. Porntip Narongrit
12 Mr. Jetana Kaewtae
13 Mr. Narintr Chomchinda
14 Mr. Silp Nabumroong
15 Mr. Decha Chomjinda
16 Ms. Siriwan Srikerdwong
17 Mrs. Benjamas Kijsueksa
18 Mrs. Renu Wongsiri
19 Ms. Koranee Anukul

Conferral Ceremony of AU Awards for Excellence December 24, 2009 (Full-Text)

The St. Joseph Award are arranged by Year

No.  Year Link
 1  2009
 2  2010
 3  2011
 4  2012
 5  2013
 6  2014
 7  2015
 8  2016
 9  2017
10  2018
11  2019



Philosophy and Objectives

"Those who have sacrificed their lives and time by their creative loyalty and positive contributions to the institution must be recognized, promoted and rewarded." So wrote Rev. Prathip Martin Komolmas in the Faculty and Staff Development Policies, July 22, 1993.

The philosophical underpinnings of the AU Academic Awards were simply that good deeds and achievements must be recognized and awarded. The President had often expressed his wish to establish academic awards as incentives for the academic community. Evaluation of job performance for this purpose was undertaken.

After a considerable length of time, the administrators decided to introduce the awards. These awards aim to both reward for past performances and encourage future efforts. As a reward, it demonstrates our belief that those selected have met and surpassed the standards of excellence for the award given.

The awards are also meant to encourage future efforts of not only the reward recipients but others who may take note that they, too, will be recognized for superior performance. The AU Academic Awards are granted periodically to those who met the selection criteria.

Historical Background

One of philosophies of Assumption University is that good deeds and achievements done by any member must be recognized and awarded. The first conferment of awards was initiated in 1997 under the name AU Academic Awards. Only lecturers were nominated for these awards under six categories.

Then, three-tier system of achievements (first, second, and third class with the first as the highest in each category) was announced in 1999 to take effect in 2000 (AU Academic Awards, December 24, 1999, p. 12). In the year 2000, the name of the awards was changed to AU Awards for Excellence. The purpose is to reward not only teaching staff but also the non-teaching staff who daily facilitate in the management and operation of the institution.

AU Awards for Excellence

Each award was named after an illustrious person found in Catholic Church history and also in memory of our predecessors who had worked long and hard to carry out their teaching mission. The general policies governing each award were laid down by the AU Academic Awards Committee in 1997.

These policies are subject to review, re-interpretation and modification as may be called for. Except for the St. Montfort Award, St. De La Salle Award and St. Joseph Award, the awards are given in three classes. The second and third class awards are meant to recognize mid-level and junior AU faculty members and staff who have performed well above the norm as compared to their peer group. The awards are as follows:

  1. St. Montfort Award for Illustrious Service 

  2. St. Michael Award for Public Service

  3. St. Hilaire Award for Distinction in Writing 

  4. St. Martin de Tours Award for Excellence in Performance

  5. St. Bernard Award for Special Merit

  6. St. Thomas Aquinas Award for Research

  7. St. De La Salle Award for Commendable Service

  8. St. Joseph Award for Dedicated Service. 

Back To Top