A. Hiroko Sano received her Bachelor’s degree and Master’s degree in Japanese Language and Literature from the University of the Sacred Heart, Japan. She joined the Assumption University of Thailand in 1992 as a full-time faculty member of the Department of Business Japanese, Theodore Maria School of Arts. She has always enjoyed teaching and learning from students. It is not exaggerated to say that she was born to be a teacher.

In 2013, she was promoted as the Chairperson of Business Japanese, Theodore Maria School of Arts. During her time as a Chairperson at the Assumption University of Thailand, she has initiated and organized several practical activities that aim at enhancing her teaching. She has served her faculty in various ways contributing actively to its growth and she contributed to the intellectual development of her students.

On the occasion of her early retirement, she would like to express her deepest gratitude to Rev. Bro. Dr. Bancha Saenghiran, President, Assumption University of Thailand, who always gave her valuable suggestions, generous guidance, and constructive comments. She also would especially like to thank Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sureepong Phothongsunan, Dean, Theodore Maria School of Arts, who supported and encouraged her during her work.

Sincere thanks also go to her friends in the Theodore Maria School of Arts for their kindness and measureless support and finally, her deepest gratitude goes to her beloved AU community.

“On behalf of AU, I would like to express our sincere admiration for your outstanding commitment dedication, and wholehearted services to our students and AU. We appreciate everything that you have done for AU for the past 30 years and 5 months since you joined us. May God bless you and all the members of your family for the rest of your life with good health and Happiness”
said the President.

A. Hiroko’s Achievements @AU

1997 St. Martin de Tours Award for Excellence in Performance

This award is designated for lecturers and administrators: who discharged their duties and responsibilities conscientiously and superbly: who exhibited high standards of efficiency, excellence, and quality in teaching, counseling, and duties such as the composition of test materials, the framing of examination papers and other academic related factors. The award is also for non-teaching staff who add to the University learning process.

2017 St. De La Salle Award for Commendable Service Award

The St. De La Salle Award is given to faculty members who have served Assumption University as lecturers for more than twenty-five years.

These faculty members have made invaluable contributions to the teaching profession and have maintained high standards of excellence in their profession.

They have displayed exemplary attitude and professionalism for younger members of the University to emulate. Most importantly, they have been committed to the development of the total being of students academically, emotionally and morally.